The Liar

The name’s Chubit.  Chubbs for short.  Heaven knows why, probably from these darned stubby legs of mine.  All my other pals got awesome names like Fluffy, Princess Tutu, and everyone knows Fuzzy Bear… But me…Chubbs.  Sickening, ain’t it?  The thing I hate most in life: children.  People say children are innocent, the most honest people you’ll ever meet. Blah blah blah this.  Blah blipity bloop that.  LIES! They’re all… lies.  I know firsthand.  Ever hear the words you most wanted to hear?  The toy store can be the loneliest place in the world for a bear.  When you find someone who will take you in, you’ll believe almost anything.  That was my mistake.  “I’ll love you forever.”  Those four words I could never let go of.  I knew they couldn’t be true- I mean people change, things change- but some part of me wanted to believe it.  That’s why I am where I am now.  Heh.  Kids say the darnedest things huh?  I thought we’d spend eternity together, or at least until either of our fluff ran out.  I should’ve known it was a lie.  Kid’s don’t have fluff.  Boy, did he get me good.  Kids will say anything to get you to play with them.  I wasted the best years of my life saving him from dragons, and pretending we weren’t poor when half the time I didn’t even have tea in my cup.  (The other half, who knows what was in it.)  Now he has a new toy though.  A Tonka Truck.  He might as well have replaced me with Bob the Builder.  If I knew I was replaceable I would’ve worked harder to pretend there was tea in the cup.  Maybe then he’d see how good I was at playing pretend, and he wouldn’t need to replace me.  I thought I did a pretty good job of playing pretend when I pretended to believe those four words long ago.  What a liar.  He probably said the same thing to the Tonka Truck.  Now I’m just sitting here in the corner, watching the two of them play from afar.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not waiting for him or anything.  It’s just.. they’ve turned me into a peeper!  That’s right!  Oh well, what can you do when you’re not needed.  I guess I’ll wait for him to leave Mr. Tonka.  Afterall, he is a liar.

3 comments on “The Liar

  1. mooimmapiggy says:

    YOU POOR BEAR! It’s like Lotso from Toy Story 3!!! I’ll be rooting for you!

  2. Boo says:

    I JUST NOW READ THIS AND IT IS CONFUSING. I DID NOT KNOW YOU WERE A TEDDY BEAR.

Leave a Reply

